LICHEN SOURCE VITAMIN D-3
Deva Nutrition is excited to introduce its plant (lichen) derived Vitamin D3 supplement that provides 1000 IU of vegan suitable vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) per tablet. This new vegan D3 option is important because most commercial vitamin D3 products are made from lanolin, which usually comes from sheep's wool, something obviously not vegan. However Deva uses a plant (lichen) derived cholecalciferol in this product for vegans and vegetarians who prefer Vitamin D3 in supplementation.
Scientists have found that people who live in cool climates -whether omnivore, vegetarian or vegan- are more prone to vitamin D deficiency due to insufficient sun exposure. All this is in spite of the fact that some fish contain vitamin D and, most milk, cheese and ice cream are fortified with Vitamin D for those who follow an omnivore or a vegetarian diet. For vegans rules are not different. People who do not get adequate sun exposure or Vitamin D fortified/rich foods are at the risk of developing Vitamin D deficiency unless they supplement.*
People with limited sun exposure may also consider supplementation, especially if they are home bound and live in Northern Latitudes. People with dark skin may not get enough Vitamin D in their system if their sun exposure is limited. Those with fat malabsorption may need to be supplemented with vitamin D and other fat soluble vitamins.*
Since Vitamin D is also an important factor in healthy bone metobolism maintaining normal Vitamin D levels is recommended by many nutritionists and health professionals.*
DEVA Vitamin D is 100% animal free, and guaranteed for purity, freshness and labeled potency. Remember all DEVA Products are 100% vegan, vegetarian and are certified by the Vegan Society, the non-profit organization that actually invented the word "vegan".
Serving Size: 1 Tablet ~ Serving Per Container: 90
Amount Per Serving % Daily Value*
Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol)
1000 IU 250%
*Daily Value not Established
Other Ingredients: Cellulose, Vegetable Stearic Acid, Croscarmellose Sodium, Vegetable Magnesium Stearate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Silica. Hypromellose, Vegetable Glycerin. (All of the ingredients are from non-animal sources)
For adults, take one (1) tablet a day with food or as directed by a health care professional.
Free of yeast, wheat, gluten, soy, sugar, salt, dairy, egg, fish, artificial color or fragrance; animal products, byproducts or derivatives.
Always consult your doctor before taking any dietary supplement.
*Information and statements regarding dietary supplements on our website have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and our products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Individual results may vary.